Google Shuttering Location Sharing in Google+

A few weeks ago, Google announced that they would be rolling out location sharing in Google Maps.  The new feature will allow you to share your location with friends and family for a set period of time and it will work across Android and iOS devices.  As a part of that effort, it appears the company is starting to shut down location sharing within Google+.

Google+ has had the ability to share your location for a long while but if you attempt to use it now, you are greeted with a splash page indicating that the feature is moving to Maps.  The tricky bit is that it hasn’t fully rolled out to Google Maps yet either.

If you get the splash page when you attempt to share your location in Google+, you will be directed to a Google Maps page where you can then

Google+ Location Sharing Shutdown
Google+ Location Sharing Shutdown

go to the Play Store to get the latest build of Google Maps.  If you already have the latest build then there isn’t anything more for you to do.  It is just a matter of waiting until Google enables location sharing in Maps.

There is no official word yet on when everyone will see the new feature in Maps.